ARC-Review: OFFICE AFFAIR by Jess Dee


All work and no play? Not for this girl. Not anymore.

Melissa Sparks has had enough. Enough of being an overachiever, enough of having no social life, enough of being lonely. Just this once she wants a change. Something different. Something that looks very much like her business associate, Ben Cowley.

Ben is all alone in the deserted offices of Preston Elks. He’s gorgeous, he’s single and he’s been her secret fantasy for the last two years. It’s a split-second decision, but there’s no going back.

When Ben looks up from his desk, the last thing he expects to see is his too-serious, straight-laced colleague stripping naked. It’s been a year since his last relationship ended, and though he’s still picking up the pieces, Melissa throws his carefully balanced world off its axis. So does her offer: a brief affair, no strings attached.

Right about the time he realizes a simple affair will never be enough, she’s back in professional mode—and clearly as distant as ever. Now it’s up to him to show her that what they have is no fluke…and he’ll do whatever it takes to convince her. Even if it means inviting another man into their bed.

Product Warnings
This book contains a man haunted by his past decisions, a woman determined to succeed, sex hot enough to steam up every office window on the block, and a voyeur who gets off watching those windows steam up.

Title: OFFICE AFFAIR
Author: Jess Dee
Series: Connected to ISLAND IDYLLE from the Bandicoot Cove Series
Genre: Erotic Romance, Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Year of release: 2012, May 1
Format: eBook
Source: Received an e-ARC from the author for review

Please Note: This review contains spoilers if you haven’t read Jess Dee’s ISLAND IDYLLE (Bandicoot Cove, book 3). So beware and don’t read it if, like me, you don’t like spoilers of books you intend to read.

First line:
“You want to know what I think?”

Memorable Scenes:
– Melissa’s striptease act and proposition in Ben’s office > loved witnessing Ben seeing Melissa in a different light for the first time
– sexy times on the desk > goes without saying that this makes the memorable list :)
– the phone smex scene > I’m still speechless…
– The masturbation scene on Ben’s bed > OMG! Am I still breathing? I think Jess Dee fried my brain with that scene


Melissa ‘Mel’ Sparks is direct and honest and she doesn’t hold back. She’s helpful, smart and down-to-earth but also a goal-getter and a loner. I loved that tough, direct Melissa also had a soft, shy side to her. Made her vulnerable and likeable when she could have easily been a corporate bitch ;)

Ben Cowley. Oh what can I say about Ben without gushing and turning into a puddle of yearning woman? He shot straight to my favorite heroes list and if you know my likes in erotic romance you’ll probably guess why. Ben is insightful, a hard worker and a dirty talker. The end of Ben’s relationship with Sienna has left him a changed man. He works hard and is on edge and tense. He’s built a wall around himself to prevent further heartbreak, hurt and humiliation. I just wanted to hold him to my chest, hug him and then have him whisper dirty talk in my ear!

Both investment bankers, Ben and Mel are so compatible it’s eerie! I loved how in tune they were, both emotionally and sexually, even when Mel was fighting it hard. Mel and Ben are also dirty talking bed-partners. I loved that they both were, in many romances it’s the hero doing all the dirty talk so I really appreciated that Mel was just as eloquently dirty as Ben. However, Ben’s dirty talk has landed him on my favorite heroes list, the first Jess Dee hero to get on that list and I have a suspicion he won’t be the last.

I loved how Melissa approached Ben all business and casually offering just sex and how shocked Ben was that he reacted physically to her. And then it turned out Mel isn’t that cool about it at all, she has a major crush on Ben but thinks they’re not socially compatible and she doesn’t stand a chance with him. Little does she know that Ben is more than happy to go from sex to something more lasting.

Jess Dee knows how to focus on the main couple of her books. There are very little secondary characters in this book and the only one who stood out is of course Will Granger. A friend of Ben’s who works across from Ben’s office, has voyeuristic tendencies and on occasion shares women with Ben. I wondered if he also was the stranger who watched Mel masturbate in her car on the company parking lot.

The build-up to the conflict was excellently done. The signs were all there, not only the fact that they were not going to be able to keep it strictly sexual, but also the introduction of the third. The moment Will, was introduced in the story and the ménage was being set up I could feel the tension building and I was waiting for the shit to hit the fan. And it did, and it was resolved

Jess Dee opened with desk smex! *Ka-ching* extra point, because everyone knows you get an extra point in the rating from me for desk smexing in an office romance and this particular desk scene was sizzling hot and totally worth the extra point! Speaking of smex, the sex scenes were once again beyond awesome! Explicit, provocative, unapologetic and did I mention hot? Breathtakingly hot! I may have actually panted a few times. Djeezus, who needs a heater when you have Jess Dee books ;) If I ever get caught in a snowstorm without any means of warming up I’ll just read a Jess Dee book.

There’s a phone sex scene that left me speechless. Jess Dee managed to give me a sex scene that was so so so hot and fill it with emotions so intense and giving the characters so much depth and development that I’m still baffled. And the hero and heroine weren’t even in the same house. How does she do that?! I just know it’s writing like that that puts you on my auto-buy-must-read-immediately list!
At one point Melissa’s POV gives us:

She felt naughty and decadent and sexy and aroused all at once. And she loved every minute of it.

And this is exactly how I felt about OFFICE AFFAIR! If you like your erotic romances wickedly dirty, explicitly carnal and emotionally satisfying, don’t miss this one!
Quotes weren’t hard to find but some of them were so explicit and deliciously dirty I had to leave them off, as I don’t have a R-rated warning on my blog :) Now look at the number of quotes I’ve included and imagine that it could have been even more.

Favorite Quotes:
She leaned forward. “You should know by now I never jump into any deal without doing a background check first. I watched you, observed your reactions. Carefully. The second I pulled the clips from my hair, your eyes turned a shade darker and your cheeks reddened.” Her hand hovered in the air between them and then landed on his shirt. “Your breathing has been uneven ever since. And now?” She smiled that sexy smile again. “Now it’s just plain ragged. And that, Cowley, is a huge turn-on.”

Seconds before another orgasm could overwhelm her, he pulled away, leaving her unsatisfied and unfulfilled. She let him have it, complaining viciously, demanding more, demanding satisfaction, swearing. The expressions that came from her were nothing less than filthy. And filth like that—from the mouth of a straight-laced woman like Melissa—turned Ben on so much a strangled groan burst from his throat.

She wasn’t earthbound anymore. Wasn’t a solid mass. She was floating on air. A million light years away from the office. She was in heaven. In paradise, languishing in a cloud of undiluted ecstasy. She was an empty, aching vessel, desperate for fulfillment. Desperate for the release only Ben could give her.

“I’m telling you. A caramel kiss is not going to do you any harm. Eat it.” His voice brooked no argument.
She gazed longingly at the treat.
“Okay, I’ll give you a choice. One way or another you get a kiss this lunchtime. Either take a bite of the dessert, or I’m going to plant my lips on that luscious mouth of yours and kiss you. With tongue. Lots of tongue. In broad daylight, while the entire company is at work.” He shrugged. “I know which one I’d prefer, but as I said, the choice is yours.”

Ben couldn’t hold back any longer. He lay in his big, empty bed and thought about Melissa. He thought some more about her, and a little more after that. And then he grabbed his phone, found her number and dialed, expecting the call to ring through to voicemail.
Her throaty, “Melissa Sparks speaking,” undid him.

“You’re the first thing I think about in the morning and the last thing I imagine before I fall asleep. I dream about you. Every single night. I live to see you, at the office, at home, anywhere. I just need to see your face. Hold your body. Touch your skin. I need you, Mel. More than I need air. You can’t walk away from me. You can’t love someone else.”

4 thoughts on “ARC-Review: OFFICE AFFAIR by Jess Dee

  1. Wow Pearl, that is one hot review. But I certainly don’t want to do any of that with one of my collegues at the office! Wish we had some eyecandy here …

  2. Pingback: Office Affair Releases Today! « Down Under Divas

  3. Pingback: Office Affair releases today « International Heat

  4. Pingback: Office Affair is now available « Jess Dee's Blog

Leave a Reply

