ARC-Review: CONSENT TO LOVE by Abby Wood

Twenty-four-year-old small-town girl Ana Reynold serves beer at the local bar, tries to keep her beater car running, and dreams of a better life as a painter.
If she can learn to make a decent steak, she might
get promoted to cook—and earn enough for her real heart’s desire. Right now, that doesn’t include romance.

But when she meets a tall, dark and sexy Native American man named Kane, Ana can’t take her eyes off him—or stop thinking about him. But she’d better. Everyone knows the proud Lakota who raises horses wants nothing to do with a townie barmaid who’ll bring shame to his people.

Except Kane can’t get Ana off his mind. He proposes a red-hot weekend in bed, a no-strings affair to end Monday morning. Yet once Kane brings the outsider onto Lakota land, everything changes…

Title: CONSENT TO LOVE
Author: Abby Wood
Series: Wild Pleasures Series, book 2
Genre: Contemporary Western Romance
Publisher: Carina Press
Year of release: 2012, April 2
Format: eBook
Source: Received an e-ARC for review from the author

First line: The warm shimmer of desire grew stronger the longer the man leaning against the truck stared her way—leaving Ana Reynold’s legs weak, her face heated and her insides tumbling.

Memorable Scenes:
– the blowjob scene after Ana and Kane make love the first time > OMG! *fans self*
– the braiding scene > scene that showed beautifully how in sync Ana and Kane were.

CONSENT TO LOVE tells the story of Ana Reynold and Howahkan (Kane). Having read the first book in the Wild Pleasures series I went into it expecting something different than I got. I expected another BDSM-tinted story but instead I got a straight erotic story that beautifully portrayed the development of a relationship between two people who brought different outlooks into it. And even though it wasn’t BDSM, the heat sparked of the pages!

While reading I fell in love with Kane within the first pages. His confident yet quiet demeanor, won me over in a split-second. One thing I didn’t completely get though was why he let a passed relationship influence the progress of his relationship with Ana so much. However, later on in the story there is an explanation that satisfied my curiosity and answered some of the questions I had.

I also loved Ana. She was in breath of fresh air throughout the entire book. She was the light to Kane’s dark and I really enjoyed the development she went through towards the end.

Whatever I missed in the build-up of the story (sometimes it felt like Ana and Kane skipped some steps in the development of their relationship) was more than made up for by the excellent eroticism of the love scenes. These scenes, though pretty vanilla, made this story stand out for me. I also enjoyed the look into life on a reservation and the Native American culture. It’s something I am not very familiar with it and I love it when authors let me discover new things through their stories.

CONSENT TO LOVE is a beautiful, intense and excellently written romance. It took me away on an emotional journey of fiery passion and strong feelings. It made me stop and think about stuff, it made me fan myself numerous times but most of all it reminded me why I love reading romance. I’m very happy I broke my reviewing hiatus and made time to read this book.

Favorite Quotes:
“Don’t worry, Ana. I’m a patient man with things that are important. When you’re comfortable with the idea, maybe you’ll shed your inhibitions and see what we could find together. So, when you work up the courage to finally kiss me, to satisfy your curiosity, I’ll let you.”

He was worthy of being the star of a nude painting of the perfect male body. She wanted to create the way he looked this minute. Unclothed, raw and powerful. He came in shades of brown. Tawny, sunset and burnt sienna.

She ran her hand along the seat rise to the cantle. “How did you know how to size it?”
He leaned over and kissed her. “I know your body better than my own. You have no idea how many hours I’ve lain beside you, running my hands over your ass and memorizing every curve so I could make this saddle perfect.”
She laughed. “Oh, is that what you were doing? I could have sworn you were warming me up for sex.”
He shrugged. “That too.”

3 thoughts on “ARC-Review: CONSENT TO LOVE by Abby Wood

  1. Nice one Pearl, I do like the fact that the hero is Native American, and you get some background on that as well.

  2. I forgot I have part one of this series on my ebook pile, and I so wanted to read that one, this one sounds good too, must read them, they sound right up my alley. And to think that in the past I did not like cowboy stories lol… I like your review.

    I hope you are okay. I know you are busy with the move and hope you can stay on top of things. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

