QuickScore-Review: BURN FOR ME by Dee Tenorio


Once burned is all it takes…

For the last twelve years, Raul Montenga has sizzled with erotic dreams of the girl he left behind. When he finally comes back home, determined to find her, it’s not to Penelope’s warm welcome but to a cold shoulder and her icy rejection. So he’s more than a little surprised to answer his door one day to find her tomboy daughter standing nervously on his porch…claiming to be his child.

Dr. Penelope Gibson’s worst nightmare isn’t that her daughter might want to know who her father was. It’s facing the man she’d foolishly spent her youth loving and keeping him at arm’s length. Now he’s back and the feelings she’d thought frozen solid are melting in his wake. Along with her inhibitions, her clothes and her better judgment.

But when he’s determined to win back her love—body and soul—can she trust him enough to try? Or will everything she’s built without him go up in smoke?

Title: BURN FOR ME
Author: Dee Tenorio
Series: Rancho Del Cielo, book 3
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Year of release: 2009, November 3
Format: eBook
Source: Bought via Samhain eBook-store

First line:
Another damn dream. Seductive, sensual, sexual dreams of a woman he had never touched and a body he couldn’t forget.

Last line:
“And just imagine, querida,” his voice rumbled next to her ear, pleased and perfect, “for at least the next five minutes, you don’t have to think about a single one of them.”

Memorable Scenes:
– Raul and Pen’s lovemaking after the first Montenga get-together where Chloe is introduced as Raul’s daughter > so hot I thought my iPhone would melt
– Josh and Raul’s heart-to-heart > loved the moment of realization Raul had about his own and Penelope’s feelings

QuickScore-Verdict:

BURN FOR ME is sort of a secret baby story but not quite as the cat’s out of the bag pretty soon in the story and I liked that. We met Raul and Penelope in the previous book and in that book there are hints to make clear what is revealed in this book. Raul and Penelope as a couple definitely worked for me.
It started rather slow in build-up of the romance but it definitely heated up good after the first kiss. They had a bit of a struggle to get to their HEA but that struggle is what made this book such a wonderful book to read in my opinion.

I love how Dee Tenorio gives family and a circle of friends a big part in the books of this series. The dynamic between the main characters and their family members and friends added that little bit of extra to their development and depth. There were favorites and lesser favorites in this one for me: I loved Chloe! She’s sharp, witty and outspoken. I hated Raul’s mom. There was an explanation that somewhat redeemed her but still I didn’t like the way she treated Penelope and her attitude towards Chloe.

To date this is the best book in the series for me but they’re all really good. The Rancho Del Cielo series is a series you shouldn’t miss if you love small town contemporary romance. Dee does it so well!

Favorite Quotes:

“The ones in my mom’s old closet. I get to hang out in her old room at Grandma’s house. I mean, it’s a guest room now, so I can’t mess it up or anything, but Grandma never said anything about the closet. There’s a whole bunch of stuff in there. There’s this player thing, it plays these huge CD things, but mom calls them records. She said I could have them if I wanted, so I brought ’em home. I like the covers, everyone is wearing all these weird clothes and colors and their hair has all these colors. The music is okay, I guess. Do you know what block the New Kids lived on? Mom won’t tell me.”

He’s not here for you, she mentally repeated. He never was.
But for a long time, she’d wanted him to be. Which was dangerous, because if he kept pushing, kept giving her those looks that made her heart stutter and her bones melt, it wouldn’t take much to make her want him again. And loving Raul Montenga twice amounted to little more than emotional suicide.

Two hours later, Raul wondered if maybe hauling ass with a hose over his shoulder was easier than parenting. Chloe’s pizza place in Poway—RDC had yet to get a place of their own that catered to kids—was a cross between child heaven and hearing hell. A little girl in there had hit notes only dogs should be able to hear. And according to Penelope, that had been a happy noise.

“You’re going to get hurt again, the worried voice tried to reason.
I deserve this, a voice Penelope hadn’t listened to in years chimed in. It was husky, sensual, and it liked the way he licked his lips before he bent back down to lick her. He nibbled up the underside of her breast, sending her nerve endings into paroxysms of delight.

“Pen, put it in your mouth or so help me, I’ll throw you down and f#ck you blind.” (Raul)

Raul gunned the engine and roared down the road. It was only three blocks to Shaky Jake’s, but he’d keep the truck at full throttle if it would just shut his friend up. “People change, you know. I’m not the same asshole I was when I left.”
“I know,” Josh yelled, grinning. “You’re a new and improved asshole. Squeaky clean and vanilla-scented now, right?”

One thought on “QuickScore-Review: BURN FOR ME by Dee Tenorio

  1. Small town romances are making its way back to my shelf and this series and book sounds like one i might enjoy too ;) I love the taste I’m getting via the quotes/memorable scenes, Pearl!!

Leave a Reply

