ARC-Review: STAR CROSSED by Kele Moon


Heavyweight MMA fighter, Romeo Wellings comes from the hard streets of New York where his family ties to the mafia cause him nothing but pain. His life takes a surprising detour when he crosses paths with the twin sister of his long time enemy. After a steamy one-night stand, he faces the fight of his life, but it’s not in the cage. The secret relationship that blooms between Romeo and his real life Juliet has him battling his family and a dark past rather than let her go.

The only lawyer in her hometown of Garnet, Jules Conner is also a volunteer Sheriff’s deputy and co-owner of a successful MMA training center. Strong and dependable, Jules is always there for those who need her. Until one forbidden night in Las Vegas with Romeo leaves her feeling so alive she can’t stop reaching out to the sexy, bad boy of MMA, even knowing the forbidden love affair could jeopardize everything.

As the tide rises against them and the people they love work at keeping them apart, Romeo and Jules hold onto a dream for a better life together and vow to go down fighting rather than accept a tragic ending.

Title: STAR CROSSED
Author: Kele Moon
Series: Battered Hearts, Book 2
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance
Publisher: Loose ID Publishing
Year of release: 2012, July 3
Format: eBook
Source: Received an e-ARC from the author for review

First line:
“I’m thinking of taking Clay up on his offer to be my training partner.”

Last line:
“If we can have a happy ending,” Romeo started, giving her a handsome smile, “anyone can.”

Memorable Scenes:
– The hotel room in Vegas scene > no words, *fans self*
– the brother-sister dynamic between Wyatt and Jules > especially in the limo to the airport in Las Vegas, I laughed out loud when Jules smacked Wyatt on the forehead with her phone
– the video chat scene > am I still breathing?
– the last few chapters > they were breathtaking and action-packed

Juliet ‘Jules’ Conner is a lawyer and volunteer deputy. I loved Jules in the first book of this series and when I learned she was to be the heroine in book 2 I might have done a happy dance in my living room. Jules is forward, independent, passionate, driven and sexually confident. She may seem tough and hard on the outside but Jules definitely has a soft, vulnerable side to her. I adored her even more when she showed this side.

And then…sigh…there’s Romeo ‘The Gladiator’ Wellings, suave and sexy MMA/UFC fighter. When I learned he was to be Jules’ hero in book 2 I might have done more than just a happy dance…much jumping and squeeing was involved. Romeo is honorable, loyal, passionate and has a great sense of humor. He’ll go through the fires of hell for his brothers even if their mafioso activities land him in trouble. Romeo fights dirty and talks dirty, be still my heart :)

The sexual chemistry between Jules and Romeo was sizzling and it just jumped off the pages thanks to Kele Moon’s amazing writing. But it wasn’t just that off-the-chart sexual chemistry. They were compatible in a lot of other areas as well and their banter was just as fabulous and it definitely contributed to the heat they created together.

You’d think with a main couple like that, Kele had her hands full but lo and behold, she also threw a cast of fabulous secondary characters at us unsuspecting little romance readers. Familiar ones like Clay, Melody and Wyatt were no surprise as I already knew they were great from the first books. But when she brought out Romeo’s brothers Nova and Tino, I was done for. First of all their names: Romeo, Casanova and Valentino…nice spin, Kele Moon, nice spin! They were as adorable as they were annoying and tough and I loved them all the way.

The men in this book and series are all, each and every one of them!, so yummy. Romeo, Tino, Nova, Chuito, Wyatt, I felt like I was mentally swiveling my neck to get a glimpse of each one and in my head I was saying: oh another one, and another one…oh wait another one!

The prologue definitely set the tone for this book. It got hot and heavy within a few pages and this didn’t let up further along in the story. It just got better and better because back-stories, a mafia plot, emotional intensity and awesome characterization were added to the scorching heat. And I took it all in like the starving romance addict that I am.

What a book! I laughed, I gasped, I panted, I cried. This book took me through all the emotions I crave while reading romance. Sure there was a part where I felt like the story was losing its fire a bit, but who cares when the rest was so good I just didn’t want to stop reading once. I was reading this book at 6AM while having gone to bed after 1AM, I was reading it secretly on my phone because I was not supposed to be reading during work…I guess this warrants the perfect rating I’m giving it.

Kele Moon rocked my contemporary romance reading world with this one! She managed to incorporate a stunning mafia plot and an awe-inspiring amount of knowledge of MMA, UFC and physical fighting in general into this beyond awesome book. And as if that wasn’t enough, she topped it off with amazingly hot and sexy love scenes and an emotional love story between larger than life characters that now have a permanent place on my favorites list.

Favorite Quotes:
“I ain’t kidding. Three rounds in the cage with me and you’ll be running back to New York with your tail between your legs. I’m a scary bitch. I can give you a long list of references confirming it.”

The very air crackled with the sexual energy vibrating between them. One wrong move threatened to set off a chain of events that could destroy what they both were before this moment—the danger, the lust, it was intoxicating. She’d lie to herself later, but in that moment she felt it, the fabric of her life being ripped open by this beautiful man, and all she did was stand there enjoying the ruin.

Stark naked, still on her hands and knees, Jules grinned like the Cheshire cat. “Those are big-boy condoms.”
Bare-chested and barefoot, Romeo held out his hands and looked down at himself as if it were obvious. “I’m a big boy.”

“Explain to me again why you decided to take into your own hands what a dozen trained officers could’ve handled.” Wyatt leaned back against the seat and folded his arms over his broad chest before he added, “Without getting shot.”
Clay narrowed dark eyes at Wyatt across the small limousine. Despite Melody running a soothing hand over his leg, Clay still growled, “How ’bout I explain to you exactly how to kiss my #ss.”

They gave each other exactly what they needed, what they wouldn’t have been able to find with anyone else but each other.
It was love on their terms, raw and carnal, with no more excuses and no regrets.

There wasn’t anything else left to say. All three of them had their demons, and for that one strange moment they weren’t fighting about them. They sat there in the darkness drinking and watching the fire. (Romeo & his brothers)

“So asking nicely in Garnet County equates to barging into the house without a warrant and interrogating Tino without reading him his rights?” Nova asked, his voice icy with fury. “Pick on my little brother again, and I will descend on your town like the wrath of God and shut down your ramshackle sheriff’s department faster than you can say Miranda rights.”

3 thoughts on “ARC-Review: STAR CROSSED by Kele Moon

  1. Pingback: Review: Star Crossed by Kele Moon | Smexy Books

Leave a Reply

