Requested-Review: IF YOU KNOW HER by Shiloh Walker

A SHADOW IN THE WINDOW.

Nia Hollister doesn’t scare easily. Come hell or high water, she intends to find her cousin’s killer. She returns to Ash, Kentucky, for answers. What she doesn’t expect is to ache with desire every time she sees Law Reilly. If any man can help her escape the nightmares for a while, it’s him. But can she allow herself to take comfort in those strong arms when a murderer still roams free?

Unknown to Nia, as she quietly slips into Law Reilly’s home, is that she’s being watched—by someone who is waiting for an opportunity to strike.

Timing is everything, though he can’t wait forever. If she’s not frightened, she soon will be. Nia has made a vow to find her cousin’s killer. She should be careful what she wishes for.

Title: IF YOU KNOW HER
Author: Shiloh Walker
Series: Ash Trilogy, book 3
Genre: Suspense Romance
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Year of release: 2012, February 28
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Source: Received a digital ARC from author for review

First line:
Jolene had been dead for six months.

Memorable Scenes:
– the scene at Law’s when Nia sees something he’s trying to keep away from her > everything surrounding this scene, what happens before, during and after, grabbed me by the throat in the best way possible

Note from reviewer: This is not my original review. I had it all written out and it was a great review (if I say so myself and I don’t say this often about my own reviews), doing the book the justice it deserved and then I effed it up and made the horrific mistake of clicking don’t save when the window popped up prompting me to. Couldn’t recover the review I’d written and had to start from scratch again…And we all know it will never be as great as the first time when you have to do it over… *sad*

Nia Hollister is a hotheaded and outspoken photojournalist. Her cousin was one of the killer’s victim and was the body left to frame Law. Nia has trouble letting go of Jolene and accepting the way law enforcement in Ash is dealing with the death of her cousin. Nia is another strong heroine. On her quest for justice and answers she’s not afraid to make mistakes and admit she made them. She shot straight to my favorite heroines list.

And then there is Law Reilly. I find it hard to describe why I liked Law as much as I did. He caught my eye ever since he was mentioned in the first book of this trilogy. His sense of humor, his down-to-earth-ness, I gobbled it all up. I did think, however, that Law’s potential was not completely applied. He was just not naughty enough to concur with the image I’d formed of him in the previous books.

I loved the romance! Law and Nia were very compatible and they brought out the best in each other. And Shiloh Walker managed to find a very good balance between the suspense, which had a big role in this book, and the romance. The romance was never snowed under by the questions of who and why surrounding the killer. In this third and final book of this trilogy the killer was a major character, his POV was very important and present. There were times it even felt like the killer and the suspense dominated the romance, but every time I started to feel like that, Ms. Walker would pull me back from that line and keep the balance from tipping over.

From the first book I have been speculating about who the killer could be. When the end didn’t provide that answer and book two only made me speculate more, I couldn’t wait for this third book to finally give me that much needed and wanted answer. I loved how all the pieces started falling into place and fit together and how some unexpected twists and turns managed to surprise the heck out of me.

From page one I was dragged back into the suspenseful writing that has had me speculating since the end of the first book in this trilogy. The way the suspense is set up and mixed brilliantly with the romance is one of the most appealing elements to me of Walker’s writing in this trilogy and her romantic suspense writing in general.

Like with book two, this final book also turned me into a paranoid conspiracy theorist, suspecting practically every male character that appeared on the pages and fit the subtle clues about the killer given by Ms. Walker. I must praise her excellent way of writing suspense because though I had the killer on my suspect-list from the first book her brilliant way she threw me for a loop I skipped to a bunch of other suspects over the course of these three books. Even in this last one I was taking notes of every male character and trying to figure out why and if they could be the killer. I found myself repeatedly thinking to my self: no X (who turned out to be the killer) can’t be it because information Y is given…not knowing that information Y was a brilliant scheme to put me of the killer’s scent. Kudos Ms. Walker!

Shiloh Walker did an excellent job of spreading an intriguing ‘whodunit’ suspense plot over 3 books all the while giving me three wonderful and unique romances. This trilogy will go on my keeper shelf for romantic suspense as it’s one of the best I’ve read in a long while, not only in originality compared to other series and within the trilogy but also in the perfect balance between romance and suspense.

Favorite Quotes:

The machine picked up and he stood there, dumbly, as a voice rolled out. Low and smooth, soft and sexy as black velvet draped over a woman’s nude body.

“Hm. Like a sleepover? Popcorn and movies?”
His grin was quick and hot. “No. Like you in my bed, under me, while I taste every last inch of you…and then you do the same to me. Or you can go first… I’m a gentleman, you know.”

The look on his face made her heart ache. Something tender, hot, and wild. . .a little bit possessive and protective, too; all of it, it added up to something that made her ache in a way she’d never ached before.

2 thoughts on “Requested-Review: IF YOU KNOW HER by Shiloh Walker

Leave a Reply

