Review: ROCKY MOUNTAIN DESIRE by Vivian Arend

“Nothing comes easy. You’ve gotta work for it. “

Matt Coleman always figured at this point in his life, he’d be settled down with a family. Since his ex split for the big city, though, no way will he give anyone else the chance to drop-kick his heart. Physical pleasure? Hell, yeah, he’ll take-and give-with gusto, but nothing more.

Hope Meridan is working long hours to hold on to her new quilt shop, going it alone since her sister/business partner ran off. Sex? Right, like she’s got the time. Not that she doesn’t have the occasional dirty fantasy about Matt. Fat chance he’d dream of knocking boots with her-the younger sister of the woman who dumped him. Nope, she’ll just have to settle for the F-word.

“Friends” would be far easier if there wasn’t something combustible going on between them. And when casual interest starts to grow into something more, their tenuous bond strengthens in the heat of desire. But it may not survive the hurricane-force arrival of the last person either of them ever wanted to see again…

Warning: Small-town rivals, men in pursuit and family meddling-in good and bad ways. Look for a cowboy who knows how to rope, ride and rein in a hell of a lot more than eight seconds of sheer bliss.

Title: ROCKY MOUNTAIN DESIRE
Author: Vivian Arend
Series: Six Pack Ranch, book 3
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Western Romance
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Year of release: 2012, March 13
Format: eBook
Source: Bought via Samhain eBook-store

First line:
Whoever invented the debauchery of a traditional bachelor party ought to be slathered with grease and tossed in a sand pit.

Last line:
No one but the two of them would understand, but she never wanted to forget what kind of work it took to make love happen. To make love stay.

Memorable Scenes:
– the heart-to-heart between Daniel and Matt > loved the bond and camaraderie between them
– Hope catching Matt taking care of himself in the bathroom > ho-ot!
– Matt and Hope’s first time > I loved everything about this scene. The heat, the fun, the emotions, everything!
– the tying up scene > this is why I love Vivian Arend’s writing, combining the heat with emotion…
– the proposal in the last chapter > how do these authors come up with this utterly romantic stuff to make me cry?

Hope Meridan is resourceful, quick-witted, kindhearted, proud, hardworking, and stubborn. When I found out she was going to be Matt’s HEA and not Helen, I did a happy dance. I was so happy when Hope gave Helen a piece of her mind and showed her she was no pushover. There’s no other way about it, Helen’s a selfish bitch and it was time someone told her that.

Matt Coleman is calm, collected and intense. He’s gentlemanly and charming but he has this raw, rough edge to him that intrigued me. He’s pretty bossy in the bedroom and I have to admit I got a little hot for that. His ex, Helen’s ‘betrayal’ really hurt him and made him determined to never let anyone near his heart again. No emotional attachment anymore. But he didn’t count on Hope, Helen’s sister, worming her way into his heart.

Loved how open and direct Matt and Hope are with each other. They don’t pull punches and tell it like it is. There was no tiptoeing around each other. Where ROCKY MOUNTAIN HAVEN blew away with its heat and sexiness, ROCKY MOUNTAIN DESIRE enthralled me with its sweet warmth and easy comfort. That is, until it was time for the love scenes. Believe me, there was plenty heat there to counterbalance the sweet.

The secondary cast of this series, though they never steal the thunder from the main couple, never fails to amaze me. I love how Vivian Arend has created this tight-knit family with its intriguing members who are always there for each other in times of need or just to be touchstones.

Of course I’m still smitten with the twins Jesse and Joel (I really want their book, Viv!). I love the bond and camaraderie between all the brothers and their expanding family. Even Travis is starting to grow on me! Well played with the subtle hints about him, Ms. Arend, well played indeed!

I loved this book from the very beginning! The premise was risky, with Matt falling for his ex’s younger sister but Vivian Arend certainly pulled it off. She managed to make it believable by taking things slow and not letting the characters jump into it thoughtlessly. I have one major complaint about this book: Bitch Helen got off way too easy. I wanted to see her suffer and squirm but unfortunately this didn’t happen.

ROCKY MOUNTAIN DESIRE was another great installment of this series! I gobbled it up. Vivian Arend never fails to please and I’m inclined to announce that the Six Pack Ranch series is my favorite of all her work. The books are fun, hot an emotional and I can’t get enough.

Favorite Quotes:

Daniel burst out laughing. “And I’m glad you stopped that bull, because I’d be sorry to have to end such a fine visit by rubbing your face in the snow for being a stupid shit.”
“Who’s the stupid shit? Talking to me when you’ve got a naked woman sitting in your bathtub?”

(Hope:)“Matt, what’s your favourite position?”
He laughed as he stripped away the scrap of fabric from her hips. “All of them.”

(Matt:)“Not very shy, are you?”
“Why are you talking? Your tongue has so many more important things to do. Ahh… ”

Hope grinned. Ear-to-ear wide with an accompanying light that made her face shine.
Matt couldn’t remember ever having this much fun along with the physical pleasure of sex. “You’re thinking something dirty or you want to make a smart-ass comment, right?”
“I’m with animal man. You going to growl for me later? Howl? I could go for the beast escaping and having his wicked way with me.”

“Who says that’s what I want?” Hope protested. It might be true, but she didn’t want him to know all her secrets.
[…]“Your body says. Listen to it.” He scraped his whiskers over the sensitive surface and she shuddered, hard. “Yup, it’s talking plenty loud, and you’ll be happy to know I’m going to give you exactly what it’s begging for.”

Hope stopped beside the driver side door and looked him over. “Jesse called and issued an invite. The shop closed today at two, so I came out right after. I left you a message. But you want to think about why you’re using that tone of voice?”
F#ck. “What tone?”
She crossed her arms. “The one that says you’re pissed off I’m here, and you think I’m a little-bitty crazy thing and need to be protected, kind of all balled up into one ultra-bossy he-man package.”

Leave a Reply

