Review: LOVE’S RHYTHM by Lexxie Couper

His music moves the world. Can his love move her heart?

Nick Blackthorne knows all about words of love. They’re the reason he’s the world’s biggest rock star. The irony? He turned his back on love a long time ago, lured away by the trappings of fame.

An invitation to a friend’s wedding is a stark reminder of how meaningless his life has become. When he enters that church, there’s only one woman he wants on his arm—the one he walked out on a lifetime ago. But first he has to find her, even if all she accepts from him is an apology.

Kindergarten teacher Lauren Robbins once had what every woman on the planet desires. Nick. Their passion was explosive, their romance the stuff of songs…and it took fifteen years to get over him. Then out of the blue Nick turns up at her door, and all those years denying her ache for him are shattered with a single, smoldering kiss.

But molten passion can’t hide the secret she’s kept for all these years. Because it’s not just her heart on the line anymore…and not just her life that’ll be rocked by the revelation.

Product Warnings:
Remember your first crush on a rock star? Now add smoldering sex, a raw and undeniable passion, soul-shattering orgasms. And secrets…

Title: LOVE’S RHYTHM
Author: Lexxie Couper
Series: Standalone but loosely connected to Bandicoot Cove Series
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Year of release: 2012, April 17
Format: eBook
Source: Bought via Samhain’s eBook-store

First line:
Plus One.
Nick Blackthorne read the two words written in ornate gold-embossed script again.

Memorable Scenes:
– Lauren socking Nick in the head (by accident) with her satchel > one of the best first meets on the page of a main couple
– the love scene at Lauren’s house when Nick shows up there the first time > so urgent, so raw! Exactly what I expected from Lexxie. The part against the door was swoon-worthy!
– Nick’s performance at the end of the book > it made me tear up (ehm… I might have bawled a little…)

Lauren Robbins is a kindergarten teacher and the ex of Australia’s hottest rock star. But they went their separate ways and Lauren has a big secret she’s keeping from him. Lauren had the endearing habit of talking to herself. I loved that!

Honesty compels me to state that I wasn’t completely on board with Lauren’s character. She kept her son from his father, never telling either of their existence and it was never truly clear to me why. She also didn’t do enough groveling in my eyes. It was Nick who did the majority of groveling and apologizing.

Nick Blackthorne is the aforementioned hot rock star. He is used to getting his way, being a rock star and when his own stupidity causes him to lose the one love of his life he’s determined to get her back and he’ll stop at nothing. But his lost love has a few surprises in store for him.

As with all the books from Lexxie Couper in this setting (both the Bandicoot Cove books and the Love Games books have cross over character mentions) the secondary cast is excellent and intriguing. And since reading LOVE’S RHYTHM I learned that Nick’s bodyguard Aslin Rhodes is getting his own story (MUSCLE FOR HIRE, coming January 2013). I cannot express how happy I was when I heard that!

There were a few new ones who just fit in seamlessly in this excellent cast. I loved Lauren’s friend Jennifer with her impulsive spontaneity and a potty mouth that made a sailor look like a cute little puppy. And the other new character that endeared himself to me was Josh, he’s an awesome kids and I loved his role in the book.

I admire how Lexxie Couper connected previous books with this one. She already subtly and less subtly wrote Nick into them but now in Nick’s book the references to these books made me smile and love Lexxie even more. Because I love connections between books and returning characters so I can see how they’re doing after their HEA.

This story, contrary to Lexxie’s other contemporary work I read, has a sweet tone to it, definitely in the beginning. It’s very emotional and intense (very good things by the way!) but in the first few chapters the trademark urgency and rawness that I’ve come to crave in Lexxie’s writing were less present.
However, don’t think it wasn’t hot or explicit because it definitely was that. And in my book hot and sweet equals me loving it :) And it lasted about 5 chapters because later on the rawness and urgency was definitely there in the love scenes.

Though I had some issues with Lauren and I had to warm up to the change of pace in a writing style that was a bit more sedated than what I’m used to from Lexxie Couper in the beginning of the book, I really enjoyed this book. LOVE’S RHYTHM is a beautiful and intricate reunion love-story and it was awesome to see Nick get his HEA after I left him at the end of TROPICAL SIN.

As with a Jess Dee book I read recently there were so much quotes I wanted to include but they were just too dirty/naughty so I’m keeping them to myself to enjoy in private. If you’re curious, I say read the book ;)

Favorite Quotes:

He lowered his head and took her lips with his. They were soft, as he remembered them being. Soft and sweet and warm. He stroked the tip of his tongue over them, an exquisite tension spreading through his body as they parted. Her tongue touched his, hesitant, almost shy. It was enough. Enough to bring their past, their passion, their desire, rushing back to him. He groaned, low and unabashed, and plunged his tongue deeper into her mouth, his hands snaking around her waist to snare her shirt in two tight fistfuls. She whimpered in reply, the sound pushing him over the edge.

Nick nodded. “I agree. I’m not fit to drive back to Sydney in my condition.”
Lauren rolled her eyes. “And what condition is that, Mr. Blackthorne?”
“Horny,” Jennifer offered before Nick could say a word.
Lauren snorted. “Deluded, more like it.”
Jennifer’s eyebrows lifted. “Hey, I just watched you stick your tongue down his throat as eagerly as he stuck his down yours, Miss Robbins, so you can drop the indignant act.”

He worshipped her mouth, her lips, her throat. He scored lines along her jaw, up to her ear, back to her lips. She whimpered nonsensical sounds that filled his c#ck with fresh want.

His was a voice of sin and pleasure. The voice with the power of the Pied Piper’s proverbial flute—except instead of entrancing children, Nick Blackthorne’s voice seduced women.

“F#ck, I love kissing you.” Nick’s groan, uttered against her lips, sent ripples of tight heat into her core. “It’s like kissing a horny angel.”

2 thoughts on “Review: LOVE’S RHYTHM by Lexxie Couper

Leave a Reply

