Requested Review: POSSESSION by Melissa Schroeder

Loving a military man isn’t always easy, and sometimes living with him is impossible.

Deke Berg has been in love with Samantha for ten years. From the moment they met, they could never keep their hands off each other. Their marriage was volatile and short-lived. Now, though, Deke knows what he wants in life, and Samantha is at the center of his plans. Unfortunately, Sam is wary of marriage—especially to a man who broke her heart.

Sam has always loved Deke. Being a former military brat, she thought she’d been prepared for life as a military spouse. But the long separations were hard, especially dealing with the stranger who returned home. She doesn’t know if she can handle that pain again, but after spending a night together in Hawaii, it’s impossible for her to ignore him.

Old prejudices and painful memories aren’t easy to overcome, but there is one thing Deke understands: Samantha is the woman for him, and he will do anything to prove his love and win her back.

Warning:
This book includes: Another hard-headed military man, a few embarrassing moments, nosey brothers, and two people too stupid to realize they are perfect together. It’s Harmless and military, so for your own safety, make sure you have ice water nearby. The author assumes no responsibility for overheating of the reader.

Title: POSSESSION
Author: Melissa Schroeder
Series: A Little Harmless Military Romance, book 2
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Military Romance, Erotic Romance
Publisher: Self-published
Year of release: 2012, May 17
Format: eBook
Source: Received an e-ARC from author’s assistant

First line:
Deacon Berg drew in a deep breath of the sweet Hawaiian air, enjoying the way it tickled his nose and filled his senses.

Last line:
Right
before he touched his lips to hers, she said, “Sure thing, Sir.”

Memorable Scenes:
– that first Dom/sub play scene > OMG hot!

Samantha ‘Sam’ Walters is a math teacher who has relocated to Hawaii with her friends, thinking she can put some distance between her and her ex-husband. She’s explosive and impulsive and stubborn.

Deke Berg is a Navy Seal who is on the verge of taking a teaching job instead of going out on missions. He’s direct and blunt and a bit gruff. He’s never gotten over his ex-wife and when one of his best friends’ wedding puts them back together for one night, he seizes the opportunity to find out if their relationship can be rekindled.

This was a reunion romance as Deke and Sam were married for a year but divorced for ten now because their marriage didn’t survive the hard military life and their clashes. They drive each other crazy. But whatever problems they had in their marriage it certainly didn’t extend to the bedroom because their sexual compatibility is off the charts.

POSSESSION starts off at Kade and Shannon’s (the main couple from INFATUATION) wedding. I loved seeing the characters from INFATUATION back. The secondary characters were excellently inserted in the story! Their banter and bickering added greatly to my enjoyment of this book. I also loved Zoe and Fiona, Sam’s best friends. The circle of friends and family is awesome in this series. I love how Mel Schroeder links people together and creates a tight knit support system for the main couples while introducing future possible main character.

I love reunion romances! Since the characters already know each other it leaves plenty of room for in-depth characterization and hot sexy times, both of which Mel Schroeder knows how to deliver on. The D/s angle came as a very pleasant surprise. It was of the BDSM-light variation and that’s how I like it best. Unfortunately this was something that was only very lightly touched in this book. I would have liked to see some more sexy scenes with this theme.

Even though I enjoyed this book there was something keeping it from blowing me away. I missed some of the intensity and that emotional click that I did find in the previous book. There were things Mel Schroeder was telling me, rather than showing me in the characterization. Nonetheless I really liked reading Sam and Deke’s story and I can’t wait to read about some of the secondary characters that stole my heart.

POSSESSION is a really nice addition to the Harmless and Harmless Military series and though it didn’t blow me away emotionally as much as INFATUATION did, I enjoyed it a lot because of Mel Schroeder’s writing style that’s fast-paced, humorous and hot! I look forward to more and already have SURRENDER on the reading list!

Favorite Quotes:

She was still laughing, and he had to, also, in the sight of her. She was never a woman who had one of those tinkling giggles. Her joy was out loud and for everyone to see. The sound was one of the greatest things he had ever heard.
He also knew what she sounded like when she moaned his name.

“Woman, I am going to smack you upside the head,” Zoe said, but she moved out of the way. “I swear to God, one of these days I’m going to leave you in a deep hole you can’t get out of.”
“Is that a short joke?” Fiona asked.
“No, but you are.” (Sam’s friends bickering)

He looked up at her, those gray eyes dark with need. His lips curved slowly. The breath she had been taking tangled in her throat. Her heart did the slow roll it did right before it fell at his feet.

“But I don’t live to work. That was never me. Or it wasn’t me after I met you. Everything I do, everything I am, I am because of you. I am a Seal, but in my heart, in my soul, I’m your husband.” (Deke)

She paced away, that sassy walk of hers in full force. God, he loved her. She was pissed beyond belief, and for some reason, that turned him on. He was a sick, sick man.

Leave a Reply

