Review: THE DARE by Karin Tabke

The Dare
The Dare by Karin Tabke
The Chronicles of Katrina series, book 1

Format: ebook, 68 pages
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance
Publisher: Self-Published
Year of release: 2013, July 11
Source: Bought a kindle copy via Amazon

My rating: 4 of 5 stars – Great Read

I dare you…

Dr. Katrina Winslow has always known who she is; an elite scientist, a certifiable genius and ultra-reserved when it comes to love and relationships. So when a simple game of truth or dare offers the cool doctor the opportunity to shed her lab coat and glasses and put on a pair of sexy stilettos, she accepts the dare. But will shedding her inhibitions fulfill her every desire and help her discover if she can be truly daring or will it cost her everything?

Two men, one a sexy stranger, and a night of no holds barred passion…
What would you dare to do?

***Author’s Note: This is book one of a four part series.***

My Review:
Though I have several of Karin Tabke’s contemporary erotic and suspense novels on my shelves, I’ve only read her historical romances (medievals that I loved). When announcements of THE DARE were accompanied by several enticing snippets on FB I knew this was going to be my first encounter with Tabke’s contemporary voice.

Katrina is a controlled and inhibited woman who does not let herself go and indulge the sensual side that’s lurking beneath her conservative demeanor and appearance, until a dare turns everything she knew about herself and her lover upside down. It’s the start of a new path in her life, a path in which the way is led by a hot cop called Simon.

In the writing of this highly erotic book, Karin Tabke doesn’t pull any punches. The sexual scenes are described without embellishments and she calls everything by its name. I love that. Speaking of the sex scenes. They were hot and those involving Simon were very sexy. You would expect that an erotic romance story of less than 70 pages , would be dominated by them but it wasn’t. Next to the steamy scenes I was also treated to backstory on Katrina and some development of her character too. It showed Tabke’s writing skills go beyond just great erotic scenes.

Karin Tabke takes the known game of Truth or Dare and spins a spine-tingling first installment in a 4-part series that lightly touched subjects like ménage, voyeurism and bondage. It had some expected and unexpected twists. I cannot wait for the next part so I can read what happens next with Kat and Simon. Though I usually avoid and don’t like reading serialized series with cliffhangers before I have all installments, I really enjoyed THE DARE! Now where’s that next installment???

Fave Scenes:
– the shower scene > and it’s not what you think ;) I really enjoyed learning more about Simon
– the other shower scene > this one is exactly what you think ;) and it was hot and sexy!

Fave Quotes:

He leaned toward her and whispered against her ear, “I’m in and out, fast and furious, down and deep.”
“Oh my,” she breathed, pressing her hand to her thumping heart.

She hissed in a breath, afraid to let the moan building in her throat to slip out. When his hungry mouth latched on to a hard nipple, it escaped.

Dropping her clothes, Katy grabbed her five inch stiletto and whacked him on the back of the head. The loud crack of the leather smacking his skull gave her immense satisfaction. She raised it again. “Get out.”
The bastard nodded and quickly dressed. As he made it to the door he turned to her and said, “I know it doesn’t matter, but I’m sorry.”
“That and a dollar will get you shit. Now leave.”

“Katrina,” he said softly, an edge of want clinging to her name. The way he said it, all deep and slow and sexy, conjured up long breathless nights of tumultuous lovemaking on the beach. Oh my…

Leave a Reply

