Review: ROCKY MOUNTAIN REBEL by Vivian Arend

Rocky Mountain Rebel
Rocky Mountain Rebel by Vivian Arend
Six Pack Ranch series, book 5

Format: ebook, 265 pages
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Western Romance
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Year of release: 2013, May 21
Source: Won an e-ARC via giveaway on Twitter

My rating: 4,5 of 5 starsAwesome Read

The best type of growing up involves getting down and dirty

Vicki Hansol made different choices than her less-than-reputable mom and sister, yet her fiery temper has left her branded with the same town-bad-girl label. When she desperately needs a change of scenery, her get-out-of-town-free ticket arrives—and requires she face down one of her deepest fears.

Easygoing Joel Coleman has nothing to complain about, but he’s never really done anything to brag about either. The youngest member of the Six Pack Ranch is looking to make some changes in his life that include stepping out from under his twin brother’s shadow.

So when the bold beauty with the smart mouth approaches him with a proposition, Joel is intrigued. Her request for him to teach her to ride soon takes on a whole new meaning. All that passion in his arms, his bed, in the barn…hell, anywhere he can get it? Bring it on. But tangling the sheets leads to unanticipated complications, and by the time the dust settles, everything family means is going to be challenged.

Caution:
Saddle up for some youthful vigor applied with great enthusiasm. Ropes, rails and raunchy sex—there’s more places to get dirty around the ranch than first meets the eye.

My Review:
It took me a few chapters to get used to the self-imposed new and improved Joel… I still remember the wild twin shenanigans he and Jesse pulled in earlier books of the series and had to get used to this more serious Joel. Joel was adorable…and then he started the dirty talk and went from sweet to sexy hot!

There was a lot about Vicki I liked. I really liked her dry sense of humor. It had a way to cut a few tension-filled moments.
Her suffering from her mother and sister’s loose & easy reputation really got to me. And I loved her fiery short temper and stubborness.

I really liked how both Joel and Vicki are trying to do the same thing and to leave their wild days and bad boy/family reputations behind them and “better” their lives. Ironically Joel’s reputation is perceived with admiration by the same people who see Vicki as a harlot just because of her family’s reputation and disregard for decency.

I also loved how this all was merged with the romance that developed between the main characters. The romance was one of the sweetest I’ve read lately! It was wonderful to read how Vicki experienced things that were new to her with so much wonder and enthusiasm.

It’s no secret Dan and Beth are my fave Six Pack Ranch couple and I loved seeing them and the boys make an appearance in ROCKY MOUNTAIN REBEL. Especially Robbie has my heart and he made me have a few ‘awww-moments’. I also loved Matt and Hope and ever since a few books back Travis has definitely redeemed himself to me. Jesse however has taken over Travis’ dubious role of the character I get enraged with but at the same time feel sorry for. He said and did some things I really expect grovelling for before I’ll get him off the naughty chair (and I don’t mean the good naughty here LOL).

This series is hands-down my favorite Vivian Arend series! There hasn’t been a single installment I didn’t love and I hope there’s plenty more to come for me to enjoy. Next up is Travis and I can’t wait to see what Viv has in store for him.

Fave Scenes:
– that first kiss in the Coleman barn > that was hot from leading up to it to the kiss itself.
– the end of the piggyback ride > funny, hehehe
– campfire with Travis & Ashley > wow, go Joel! :)

Fave Quotes:

“If I promise there will be no games with Jesse involved, will you go out with me?”
Her righteous anger blurred into confusion. “Go out—? Joel, I want to learn to ride.”
He tried, he really tried, but he couldn’t stop his lips from twitching, even though he buried the full-out grin.
She swung a fist into her thigh hard enough it had to hurt. “A horse, you ass. Yes, I know the goddamn song, but I want to ride a horse without freaking out.”

Her mouth twisted into this teasing grin. “You saying you suck in the sack, Joel? That’s not what I’d heard.”

She dropped the idea of crawling into his lap and rubbing all over him like a lovesick cat.

She stroked the side of his erection and Joel shook his head. “Troublemaker. You need to concentrate on what you’re feeling, not on making me go off like a firework out of schedule.”

[Joel] Hey, who said I did something wrong?”
Travis grinned. “You’re a guy. Means you had to do something wrong. Accept it, and life gets easier.

Leave a Reply

