Review: DIRTY DISTRACTIONS by Cari Quinn

Dirty Distractions
Dirty Distractions by Cari Quinn
Afternoon Delight series, book 1

Format: ebook, 166 pages
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Year of release: 2013, June 18
Source: Bought e-copy via Samhain’s eBook-store

My rating: 5 of 5 stars – Perfect Read and a 2013 favorite

Blurb from Goodreads:
Zoologist Sara Carmichael’s active social life is the envy of all her friends, but she has a secret. She’s bored senseless. If she has to go to one more bird sanctuary fundraiser with some guy who thinks his little sports car makes him “hip,” she’ll scream.

Enter Brad O’Halloran, her best friend Kim’s much younger brother. A guy who’s picking up the pieces after a quickie marriage and even quicker divorce. A guy so hot he makes her body scream with frustration.

Until Sara’s apartment is renovated, they’re all living at Kim’s place. Despite her determination to not to salivate at glimpses of Brad’s finer-than-fine body in nothing but a low-slung towel, flirtation escalates to the brink of something more.

Now one of them has to back down…or ante up for some good, dirty fun with the unspoken understanding that when the time comes, they’ll make a clean break. Neither anticipated they’d make the most complicated connection of all—love.

Warning:
This book contains a hero who knows how to make engines— and women—purr, seduction while on cold meds, and a heroine who might be a little older but still enjoys learning a few naughty new tricks.

My Review:
It’s been a while since I read a Cari Quinn book so when she announced her first release with Samhain (something I was thrilled about as Cari is one of my fave authors and Samhain one of my fave publishers), I pre-ordered it immediately and since it came out a day before I left on vacation I put it on my vacation-reading list. The combination of an older woman, younger man and Cari being the author made me loving this book a sure thing and from page 1 I loved the sexy banter between Sarah and Brad.

Just when I thought I’d already read Cari Quinn’s best work she goes and does it again! When I was only 40% in I already knew the book was heading towards a 5-star rating for me. Everything clicked and worked for me: the cougar trope, the character-driven romance, the dialogues and banter and the so deliciously dirty and sexy as hell sex scenes.

I really enjoyed how the cougar trope was handled in this book. It wasn’t brushed over but it also wasn’t a big deal. The conflict came more from the difference in status and Brad feeling he wasn’t “good enough” for Sarah then the fact that she was older than he was. There weren’t many secondary characters as the story focused on Sarah and Brad and I didn’t mind that at all. The only true secondary character was Kim, Brad’s sister, whom I loved and was happy to hear from Cari that she is getting her own book.

DIRTY DISTRACTIONS proved once again that Cari is without a doubt one of my favorite authors in contemporary erotic romance! Samhain has netted an awesome author who writes the combination of dirty sexy, humorous dialogue and emotional intensity so well I can’t but adore her books. DIRTY DISTRACTIONS is without a doubt a 2013 favorite!

Favorite Scenes:
– Brad brushing Sara’s hair when she’s sick > so sweet
– bath scene > so hot

Favorite Quotes:

“You’ll be the death of me, Doctor.”
“Only if you’re lucky, O’Halloran.”

His voice dripped over her spine like melted caramel, hot and sweet. Her pussy actually tingled as if it missed him. No doubt there. Of course it missed him. When needy body parts made good friends with others that fit into them so enthusiastically, why wouldn’t they swell up and get all wet in anticipation of their next meeting?

She stepped back and swallowed more coffee. It didn’t do much to clear the desire haze now wrapping her brain in layers of Brad-scented cotton.

She laughed again and he fell headfirst into a vat of lust. That it had a rickety trapdoor at the bottom that led straight to something much more dangerous made it even worse.

Oh God, there he went with the dirty talk. It was like pure ambrosia to her starved senses after years of furtive clinches that consisted of descriptive soundtracks like “ooh, yeah, babe, nice.” With him she could be as naughty as she wanted to be—and she would.

One thought on “Review: DIRTY DISTRACTIONS by Cari Quinn

  1. Pingback: Tour Stop: Seduced by Cari Quinn and Taryn Elliot | Why I Can't stop Reading

Leave a Reply

