ARC-Review: THE DERBY GIRL by Tamara Morgan

The Derby Girl
The Derby Girl by Tamara Morgan
Getting Physical Series, book 2

Format: ebook, 219 pages
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Carina Press
Year of release: 2013, August 26
Source: Author

My rating: 4,5 of 5 starsAwesome Read

Blurb from Goodreads:
Roller derby girl Gretchen “Honey Badger” Badgerton lives in the moment, no apologies. Like every woman in Pleasant Park with a pulse, she finds Dr. Jared Fine irresistible, but she’s taken by surprise when her unattainable new neighbor asks her out.

On paper, Jared is the perfect man: gorgeous, wealthy and charitable. But his golden image is just that, and opening an upstate practice is a welcome chance to start a new life. When Gretchen stops to help him with a flat tire, he’s intrigued by her feisty attitude—and her sexy body art. There’s something refreshing about being with a take-charge woman who doesn’t expect him to be anything but himself.

Though Gretchen is hesitant to shatter Jared’s “bad girl” illusion of her, she has to face facts: she’s fallen for the good doctor. She’s used to putting everyone else’s needs before hers, but as their relationship heats up, can she handle having someone take care of her for a change?

My Review:
A world-renowned plastic surgeon and a roller derby girl/barista. This can only be lead to an awesome romance story, right?

I met Jared in THE REBOUND GIRL, book 1 of the series, as the jackass ex of the heroine. Admittedly I didn’t really like Jared at first when he first appeared in that book but by the time I got to the end Jared had redeemed himself quite a bit and I was looking forward to his book. Through the grapevine (aka Twitter) I learned his heroine was going to be a roller-skating girl and this spiked my interest even more.

Jared is authoritative, self-deprecating and a little smug. Gretchen is frank and direct. I adore how the characters Tamara Morgan writes are flawed and far from perfect and how they embrace that while finding love. They make them perfect in my eyes and I love them so much more than those characters who are seemingly perfect and flawless. The flaws and imperfection of Morgan’s characters make them characters I can relate to and empathize with and it is the best way to engage my full attention.

I love Tamara Morgan’s writing and her heroines and with THE DERBY GIRL she spoiled me with writing that put a smile on my face from page 1 and a heroine that was once again made of awesomeness. Gretchen was witty and outspoken but beneath her tough exterior she uses as an armor, both in behavior and appearance, there is vulnerability and a hint of insecurity she manages to mask with sharp humor and a healthy amount of brawn.

Both Jared and Gretchen use their outward appearance and/or demeanor to battle disapproval from others. THE DERBY GIRL is all about acceptance, for both Jared and Gretchen. And Tamara Morgan did a great job of showing that in the characters through their actions, POVs and back-stories and the romance. I’ve found that her books are very character-driven. Which is something I love. In THE DERBY GIRL there are a few plotlines but even there they serve the character development more than they are actual plots.

I really loved this second book in the series and I can’t wait to see what great characters has in store for me next in this series! I have a suspicion but Tamara Morgan has been known to surprise me so I’m not speculating much and will just wait and see. In the contemporary romance part of my (digital) shelves, Tamara Morgan and this series take top spot.

Fave Scenes:
– The lecture at the community college > awesome scene and prime example of Morgan’s writing skills. Oh and the aftermath was very sexy
– the date at the derby game, up till and including the bathroom scene > I’m repeating myself but see my remarks at the previous fave scene :)
– Jared’s declaration of love > I was smiling through my tears

Fave Quotes:

Despite him driving a ridiculous car, his face was one Gretchen knew well. Dreamed of often. Occasionally fantasized about licking.
But only occasionally. And always under the most sanitary of conditions.

She laughed. “That’s sweet, but you can go ahead and stop acting like you’ve just discovered your dick and won’t stop until the whole world has admired it with you.”

Her friend Caitlyn called him a panty disintegrator. One strong look, and satiny undergarments all but combusted on the spot, flung themselves at the nearest unsuspecting passerby.
Good thing Gretchen’s undergarments were made of sterner stuff. She had specialty no-ride hotpants—a staple of roller derby girls everywhere. Those suckers didn’t move without express permission from the owner first.

Ill-fitting swimsuits with untamed pubic hair creeping out the seams had a way of equalizing people.

Sensation crashed around him, her lips the center of the storm. He could have remained like that for hours, exploring the little jolts of pleasure that erupted at every tiny movement of her tongue against his.

His hands gripped her thighs tightly. “Woman, don’t you know that the only words coming out of your mouth when you’re half-naked and spread wide open are yes, more and, if you’re so inclined, fill me, you beast?”

“There isn’t any chance your grandmother is about to come home and tell us to get off her lawn, is there?” Jared asked, pulling back to give them time to breathe. It was a good thing too, as Gretchen had somehow forgotten the most basic of human needs as she reveled in the soft, sweet depth of him.

Leave a Reply

