Dewey’s Readathon April 2015

lg-new-readathonbutton-border

I’ve known about this yearly read-a-thon for a few years now and this is the first time I’m officially participating in the Dewey’s 24 hour Read-A-Thon. I’m kinda winging it because I really don’t know if I’m going to be able to really read for most part of 24 hours. The only thing I did upfront was compiling my TBR-list for it, which consists mostly of novellas because since I’m a slow reader full-length books will only frustrate me; it normally takes me 3 days to a week to finish a full-length. Granted, that is not non-stop reading and I have a lot of distractions in my daily life that prevent me from reading more or quicker but still…

I’m excited to start tomorrow. I’m in the UK so I officially start at 1 PM local time.

As I said I’m winging it so I’ll be back on this post with my planned reading list (which is subject to change…) and tomorrow afternoon for the first update. I will also be posting updates via Twitter (@MaggieReadsRom) and Goodreads.

UPDATE: You’ll find my reading list below. Please note that this is the list of books of which I will choose my readings. I don’t kid myself in thinking I will read them all…NO WAY! But it’s the list I made of novella’s I wanted to save for this Read-A-Thon! I’m reading ebooks exclusively because a) Since a year or two I rarely read print books b) I recently moved to the UK and couldn’t bring my print books with me anyway. So my entire book collection consists of books in either the iBooks App or the Kindle app on my tablet and epubs on my desktop computer.

UPDATE 1 – 5PM (First 4 hours)

My first update during the Read-A-Thon as I’ve decided to try and update around every 4 hours…except when I sleep of course as I hope to get more than 4 hours of sleep.

I’ve finished a short story (ONE NIGHT WITH HER (Seductive Nights #3.5) by Lauren Blakely) and am now halfway through a novella and I’m loving it. It’s less non-stop reading than I thought it would be as I keep being distracted by Twitter, the Read-A-Thon website and the hubby who is being so good in trying to disturb me as little as possible but every now and then he forgets and tries to have a longer conversation with me.

But for a slow reader like me I’m already over the moon at the amount of pages I’ve read in these first 4 hours, considering it takes me 3 days to a week to read a 300-400 page book.

UPDATE 2 – 10.30 PM (hours 5-10)
My plan to update every for hours went down the drain as I was busy reading :) So I’ll just update when I update, no planned updating anymore LOL

In these last hours I finished the novella I started reading in hour 2 (RUNNING HOT (Bad Boys Undercover, #0.5) by HelenKay Dimon) and also read another shorter novella (FANNING THE FLAMES (Jackson: Girls’ Night Out #0.5) by Victoria Dahl).
I also had dinner and spent some time with the hubby, poor guy is being so neglected today.

I’m now headed to bed so don’t know when the next update will be, probably tomorrow morning after I wake up. I will, however be reading before I go to sleep…of course!

In random, alphabetic order:

IBOOKS APP

MARKED BY MIDNIGHT (Midnight Breeds #11.5) by Lara Adrian
ROCKY RETREAT (Six Pack Ranch #7.5) by Vivian Arend
ONE NIGHT WITH HER (Seductive Nights #3.5) by Lauren Blakely
FANNING THE FLAMES (Jackson: Girls’ Night Out #0.5) by Victoria Dahl
HOW TO CATCH A WILD VISCOUNT (????) by Tessa Dare
RUNNING HOT (Bad Boys Undercover, #0.5) by HelenKay Dimon
LOVE AND MISTLETOE (Ballybeg #4) Zara Kean
RIPPED (Miller Sisters #1) by Sarah Morgan
MODEL BEHAVIOR (standalone) by Tamara Morgan
DRAWN DEEP (Afternoon Delight #2) by Cari Quinn
TAKEDOWN (Tapped Out #1.5) by Cari Quinn
INDECENT EXPOSURE (Indecent #1) by Jane O’Reilly
BEYOND POSSESSION (Beyond #5.5) by Kit Rocha
INK INSPIRED (Montgomery Ink #0.5) by Carrie Ann Ryan

KINDLE APP

ONE LESSON (Pacific Blue 0.5) by Lorelie Brown
THE NEKKID TRUTH (standalone) by Nicole Camden
BLOWING IT OFF (Stimulated #1) by Lexxie Couper
RUMOR (Renegades #3.5) by Skye Jordan
OUTSIDE THE LINES (The Line #3) by Kimberly Kincaid
PUSHING THE LINE (The Line #4) by Kimberly Kincaid
SOMETHING BORROWED (Standalone) by Kimberly Kincaid
TWICE AS DARING (Dare to Love Kindle Worlds) by Sami Lee
DOUBLE DARE (The Chronicles of Katrina) by Karin Tabke

Leave a Reply

