Review: NEED ME by Tessa Bailey

Need Me (Broke and Beautiful, #2)Need Me by Tessa Bailey
Broke and Beautiful, book 2

Format: ebook, 250 pages
Genre: New Adult Romance, Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Avon Impulse
Year of release: 2015, April 21
Source: Bought

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Blurb from Goodreads:
When Honey Perribow traded in her cowboy boots for stilettos and left her small Kentucky town to attend Columbia University, she never expected to find a dirt-cheap apartment or two new best friends. No stranger to hard work, Honey is completely focused on her medical degree … until she sees newly minted professor Ben Dawson, and her concentration is hijacked. Honey is fascinated by her gorgeous young English professor and vows to find a crack in his tweed-wearing, glasses-clad exterior.

At an off-campus party, an accident lands Ben in a dark, locked closet with a sexy-sounding Southern belle … and their chemistry is explosive. But when he discovers that the girl in his arms is the same beautiful student he can’t stop thinking about, he is stunned. Student-teacher relationships are strictly forbidden … yet no matter how hard he tries, Ben can’t stay away from Honey.

And when his attempt to fight their attraction nearly ruins the best thing that ever happened to him, Ben will do anything to prove how much he needs her.

My Review:
This book people! Waiting for it drove me to the brink of insanity and made me do and think things I say I never do! Ever since Tessa Bailey posted the first snippets of Ben and Honey (I think from very early stages of writing it) I became obsessed with Ben. Then I read about him in the first book of this series and put that together with the snippets and I went batshit crazy. Like pre-ordering the book (I rarely pre-order Amz Kindle ebooks as I prefer epub) and then pre-ordering it again just to have Amazon tell me: “you’ve already ordered this one, you idiot!. Then I kept harassing Ms Bailey on Twitter about this book and Ben. Then I got really jealous of people on GR who were reading the ARCs. They were reading MY Ben! MINE!! Then on the night before the release day I kept refreshing/syncing my Kindle app to see if the book was there already, knowing perfectly well that it was only going to appear at the earliest at midnight… Like I said: batshit I-don’t-recognize-myself crazy!

And now for the book! I’d already had a preview of how awesome and funny this series is through the first book (CHASE ME) and how dirty sexy hot Ben and Honey are together through the snippets shared by Ms. Bailey so my expectations were high…not to say extremely high!

The first paragraph already had me smiling and by the end of the first page I was laughing out loud at the banter between Honey and Roxy (heroine book 1). I think I said this about the first book too but the humor is spot on and one of the strong-points in these books. On almost every page there’s something that’ll make you smile or laugh and I love the camaraderie and banter between the buddies (guys) and the roomies (girls) both seperately and together. Another thing I really love are the nicknames for minor secondary characters like Johnny Jerkoff, Winker, Beercrusher…They make me laugh every single time.

As mentioned at the start of this review my expectations were high, really high, especially where Ben was concerned and I have to say they were met but only because the grovel was THE. BEST. EVER! There were things Ben did that had me shaking my head and there were moments he said and did some douchebag-y things. He kinda made up for that with his dirty talk though so I sort of forgave him but even his exquisite filthy mouth couldn’t make up for all of it. So while I was reading and judging Ben I wasn’t prepared for the ultimate grovel that did make up for all of it. For me it really did.

I loved Honey. Just as Roxy in the first book of this series she’s a heroine I’ll gladly add to my favorite heroines list. She’s witty, smart and very open and honest and I liked how she didn’t let Ben’s sometimes hurtful words and actions get her down. Her creative writing assignment made me tear up! I was sitting there, trying to read on the Kindle app through tears at what she wrote.

NEED ME gave me everything I want in a book: humor as it made me laugh out loud. Heat as it gave me hot flashes because of the sexy, sexy, filthy dirty sexy scenes and Ben’s dirty dirty mouth. Emotion as it made me ugly cry multiple times. Fast pace as I couldn’t stop reading and finished it in 9 hrs of reading (this might not be a big deal to some but it really is to me, since I’m a slow-ass reader!). Characters I just couldn’t but love! And I’m not only talking about Ben and Honey. Louis, Roxy, Russell, Abby, Elmer, Honey’s parents, they were all crucial to the book. They made Ben and Honey shine and I couldn’t have wished for a better secondary cast.

There aren’t many authors that can achieve what Tessa Bailey did with NEED ME so I can only thank her for writing these books that make me want to read, read and read. Thank you, Ms. Bailey…from the bottom of my romance-loving heart.

Memorable Scenes:
– the closet > this scene (up until the lights went on) is my fave of the book, it was EVERYTHING
– Honey’s creative writing assignment > made me tear up so bad I couldn’t read for a while
– Ben’s “what I should’ve written” letter to Honey > see Honey’s creative writing assignment! Same effing tears!

Favorite Quotes:

“Did you lose your indoor voice in that pile of underpants?” (Roxy to Honey)

Then. Then he’d spoken. Good Lord, she still remembered the shift of energy in the room. Each and every female student had leaned forward and propped their chin on their hands. Spellbound. There was no other word for it. His voice filled the room like sexy fog, rich and nuanced.

This wasn’t happening. It couldn’t be. His neck had grown so hot that he swore it was on fire. Kind of like the rest of him. Thank God he was standing behind the podium, because his dick was hard enough to give someone in the front row a black eye.

“‘Easy’ isn’t the word I would use.” She encompassed her body with a circular hand gesture. “This here is Fort Knox. Especially with my father around. Unless you want to go back to New York minus testicles.”

He pressed their foreheads together and looked her in the eye. “Listen to me.” He waited for her nod. “You’re going to take me somewhere now where I can see you without your panties on. I’m going to get you off good and hard, maybe a few times. And then, Honey, we’re going to talk.” He bucked his hips into her twice. “But first, I’m going to f*ck you so dirty, you won’t be able to look anyone but me in the eye afterward. Have you heard everything I’ve said?”

“I advise against tempting a man with morning wood, Honey. It can be vicious when not seen to properly.” 

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

