ARC-Review: RIPPED by Edie Harris

Ripped (Blood Money, #2)Ripped by Edie Harris

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A 2015 favorite! RS at its best!

Edie Harris is a wordwizard, I swear! She mesmerizes you with the words she puts on paper and holds you captive until you’ve read the last one. That’s the only way I can describe how I felt about RIPPED. From the first pages of the prologue I was completely and utterly mesmerized.

Tobias is one cold-blooded, controlled and cool dude…He really gave me chills sometimes at how detached and unaccepting of emotions he could be. I had caught a very tiny glimpse emotions when he interacted with Beth and his family are the only ones on the receiving end when he does show feelings or compassion but I knew he had met his match in Chandler from their very first interaction in BLAMED.

Chandler is as cool and collected and cold as Tobias. Seemingly nothing fazed this british spy and she’s a tough cookie. It took me a little while to warm up to her but soon I was rooting for her all the way.

Both Chandler and Tobias were fascinating characters. The way they fought against the unfamiliar feelings, the irresistable attraction and the undeniable chemistry between them was one of the things that kept me glued to the pages. And once they gave into the chemistry the Ice King and the self-serving b*tch set the pages on fire! And when the Ice King melts, he MELTS. His sexy scenes were so very very hot. And not even with explicitness It was the things he said to Chandler that completely stole my heart and made me go all weak in the knees. Because he didn’t just spout romantic stuff to get her in the sack. He acknowledged the feelings with such reluctance but at the same time in such a sexy way…Oh. My!!

I love how Harris set this book up…If not for the prologue, that immediately put me at the edge of my seat, I would have just breezed along, reading about the wedding stuff and about Chandler’s backstory, the plotlines on her sister and her sister’s fiancé. But that prologue kept reminding me of things to come, horrifying things to come and the anticipation for the suspense plot was very high.

RIPPED is my first RS 2015 favorite and deservedly so…This book was everything! This series is everything! If you love romantic suspense and all things secret agent and spies, you MUST read this series.

Favorite Quotes:
Her memory of that particular showdown was clear: Faraday in one of his natty three-piece suits, buttoned up higher than a Victorian virgin on her wedding night and holding a gun as though he’d left the womb with it surgically attached to his hand.

“I want to touch you like I did after your bad dream. I want to taste you and feel you and die in you.” Surrendering, he leaned forward and sank his teeth into one plump cheek and was rewarded with her heartfelt moan. His tongue swept out to test the rain-cooled flesh, his lips closing in a tender kiss as he shifted to hold her hips, fierce pride slicing through him at her visceral shiver. He did that to her. Him. “I want to learn you, until I can speak you better than you can speak yourself. From a place of confidence, Chandler.” His fingertips gripped with near-bruising force. “Give me the chance.”

Chandler was kissing him, touching him, plucking and picking at the pieces of his soul with a direct connection to his dick. Until this moment, he hadn’t known his dick had anything to do with his soul, but apparently it did. Or at least, it did where Chandler was concerned. “I don’t have a condom.”
Grinning, she took the lobe of his ear between her teeth and nipped, making him shudder, and another sliver of his soul surrendered into her keeping.

“Warn me now if there’s some way I should or shouldn’t take you, Chandler. Because if you don’t, I’m simply going to do whatever the hell I want with this hot little body of yours until I find what feels best for us both. And then I’m going to fuck you until I understand each and every nuance of that word.”

Leave a comment