QuickScore-Review: COMPANY INK by Olivia Brynn

Sidney has crushed on her boss Grant for over two years. When she finally pushes him to his breaking point, they both end up winning. The fraternization rule their company holds dear means that they’ve got to keep their new relationship deep under wraps.

Grant knows that this could end very badly. He could be charged with sexual harassment, accused of favoritism, or worse–they could both be unemployed. Grant is willing to risk it all to dip his pen in the company ink.

Title: COMPANY INK
Author: Olivia Brynn
Series: standalone
Genre: Contemporary Romance, Erotic Romance
Publisher: Darm Mountain Books, self-published
Year of release: 2012, February 26
Format: eBook
Source: Received an e-copy from the author for review

First line:
You’re such a dear.” Carol sat in her office chair, looking around her new work space with a grin.

Memorable Scenes:
– the scene at the cubicle where they decide to go for it > wow! Talk about sexual heat and tension and this scene was followed by wall and desk smex! WIN!

QuickScore-Verdict:
It shouldn’t be a surprise that I love office romance-themed contemporary romance. So when a book with the title COMPANY INK is offered to me for review naturally I’ll jump on it! And the blurb only cemented my desire for this book. The threat of looming sexual harassment suits in Sidney and Grant’s workplace provided an intriguing premise so from the first page I was curious about how Olivia Brynn was going to pull this story off.

I loved the quick banter and snappy dialogues between Sidney and Grant as much as the sexual chemistry between them and the love scenes.
The one point of criticism I have is that the story ended rather sudden. Would have loved a sort of epilogue to show Sidney and Grant further along in the relationship.

In 5 short chapters COMPANY INK offered everything I look for in a sexy contemporary novella: heat, chemistry, humor and external conflict. Wrapped up in a tight, fast-paced package I went through it quick and easy and was left yearning for more when I finished.

Favorite Quotes:

Sidney turned to leave the padded cubicle. She made it two and a half steps before running into a crisp white shirt. She didn’t have to look up to know who she’d encountered. She recognized the tie as the one he wore during their year-end recap six months ago, and she’d faltered over a direct question when he’d interrupted her daydream of unknotting the red silk with her teeth.

She stared into his eyes, rigidly resisting his magnetic pull. If she leaned into his chest, she’d embarrass herself and hump his leg right here.
(…) Sidney swallowed. This man could work her into a froth of righteous indignation one minute and then have her melting like a stick of butter in a frying pan the next. He was sexy as hell, and it frustrated her to no end. Humping his leg still wasn’t out of the question.

His gaze dropped to her chest, where without her permission, her nipples beaded, poking through her flimsy bra and shirt like little show-offs.

“If we do this—” he nibbled on her earlobe “—we’d have to keep it quiet.”
“I know.” She’d gone over the logistics of a fling with Grant in her mind enough to know the repercussions.
“I don’t want to lose my job. I don’t want you to.”
“I don’t either.”
“But when I’m this close to you, and I get drunk on your scent I struggle to give a shit about my career.”

She squeaked. It was a strange sound she’d never made before and morphed into a low groan as her orgasm raced through her body, leaving tingling footprints on her skin.

Leave a comment